and…GO!

by pieces of moments

So much music, so little time. Tonight I’m headed out to review a duo piano concert of new music. I’ve heard mounds of new music throughout my career, but honestly, I don’t know if I can tell you I’ve heard a concert of new DUO piano music – ever! I’m looking forward to it.

By the way, I don’t think I’ve mentioned this, but as of the beginning of this year I’m reviewing for the blog Chicago Classical Music (in addition to my musings here). It’s where you’ll be able to read my review of the Chicago Composers Orchestra (including highlights of my interviews with composer Andrea Clearfield and violinist Elina Lev) from last night, and my review of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra’s “Beyond The Score” that I’m attending tomorrow.

For those of you reading this from NYC or the surrounding areas I recommend you make Merkin Concert Hall your destination of choice this coming week. The amount of amazingness happening there right now is insane! On Tuesday at 2 PM you can catch my pals A Far Cry as they rock the following program:

J.S. Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 3

Pärt: Cantus in Memoriam Benjamin Britten

Mozart: Serenata Notturna in D major, K. 239

Elgar: Serenade for Strings in E minor, Op. 20

Bartók: Divertimento for String Orchestra

It’s almost totally  so l d   o u t, so be sure to grab your ticket now.

Then (still at Merkin) on Thursday night you can catch Gaudete Brass, some of my Chicago friends, who perform at 8 PM (those with student a valid student ID get in for FREE!).  It’s part of an NYC tour including giving some masterclasses at Juilliard and Eastman.

THEN stick around for the (FREE!) Estatic Music Festival Music Marathon, which is kicking off a 14 concert series curated by Judd Greenstein (who, along with one of my NEC classmates, Olga Bell, will be performing as part of the festival in March).

Two out of three for free ain’t bad.

Get out there and listen to some live music!!!

…And I promise to share some pictures and impressions with you of the Tim Halperin show, and the Polecat/Slowdown Virginia show, and my New Year celebrations with The Faint/Tilly and the Wall oh.so.soooooooon!

