Introducing :: Josh’s Picks

by pieces of moments

You’ve heard me reference my cousin Josh multiple times. He’s an extremely gifted visual artist and has pretty much the BEST taste in music. Without him I wouldn’t have cried to the new Deerhunter album, or enjoyed hearing Miniature Tigers rock out at Lolla this summer. Thus, it only made sense to invite Josh to extend his knowledge and joy in the art to you readers directly. Right? So, today I’m happy to introduce my talented cousin Josh to you all. You’ll see his posts here every now and again as “Josh’s Picks.” Stay tuned – my itunes is more rich and diverse thanks to him, and yours will be, too! And hopefully I can coax him to post some of his art and great concert photographs, too.

Recently, when I was sitting in on a rehearsal (John Nelson conducting Brahms’ German Requiem), I got a text from him that made me wish I could dash home and catch part of the amazing performance in which he was enraptured via live stream from Lincoln Center’s White Lights Festival in NYC.

You probably missed hearing Sigur Rós like I did. Here’s his take on the evening spent sitting by the radio. Take it away, Josh…

. . .

I first discovered the icelandic band Sigur Rós during a very transitional period in my life, and the timing couldn’t have been more pertinent to the complexities that go along with being 14 years old. They incorporate elements of atmospheric, ambient-style dream pop that usually starts off with a tiny simple idea that grows and evolves into a huge, lush, and very cinematic sound. As a teen, I could relate to this. Atmosphere is the outer expression of an inner emotion; and I had plenty of crazy “inner emotions” when I was at that age.
“Sometimes a whisper can speak louder than a shout”
This band’s ability to create music with plenty of dimension and instrumentation whilst still remaining very minimal has never ceased to leave me completely spellbound and awestruck. I recently came across a blurb about members of “the Icelandic art-rock band Sigur Rós along with a wild constellation of international ensembles” online the other day. The performance features the Hilliard Ensemble, the Latvian National Choir and the Wordless  Music Orchestra led by Jeffrey Milarsky. Hearing Jónsi’s falsetto voice, accompanied with the new orchestral arrangements from “Riceboy Sleeps” is just heavenly. In addition to Jónsi’s part of this evening’s program, The Hilliard Ensemble opens the concert with Antoine Busnois: In Hydraulis (1465). This was an absolute treat to listen to, and It’s a moment you’ll want to be stuck in forever.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

 

