emotional landscapes

by pieces of moments

You might remember that back in May I let you know that Björk Guðmundsdóttir was to be honored as one of the recipients of the 2010 Polar Music Prize given out by Sweden (a country I love, thanks to a wonderful former roommate from Sweden). Well, videos from the ceremony have surfaced online. My cousin Josh alerted me and we’ve both been drooling over the performances – particularly the one given by Ane Brun. It totally gave me the chills.

You can watch pretty much the whole ceremony (the honoring of Björk begins in part 3, fyi), which is really fun if you have the time and are into award ceremonies (like I am). Film composer Ennio Morricone was also honored, so there are lovely performances of his work, too.

A highlight is when Björk’s father reads her award citation (starting around 11:00) – so sweet!

Enjoy.

