my headphones

by pieces of moments

For the most part, my life has never ceased to be on an academic schedule. Thus, these middle August days start to have that nostalgic fade at the edges with the knowledge that summer is soon to be packed away with the bathing suits and put in storage for way too long. Thankfully, the upside is a slew of out-of-town visitors beginning this past weekend and running up through Labor Day weekend squeezing the last best bits of summer out. Between that, and a writing deadline I have coming up, my updates on Lollapalooza and other things that have been waiting in the wings for far too long will probably continue waiting for just a bit more. But hey, it’s summer.

In the meantime, though, I’ll tell you that I’ve been rockin’ out to some new(ish) stuff in my headphones. My cousin Josh (who has impeccable taste in music…runs in our DNA) introduced me to Miniature Tigers recently. I’ve been listening to their album, F O R T R E S S a lot. Did I already tell you about them? Sometimes the heat gets to me and I forget what I’ve told you between sips of my iced coffee. Anyway, Miniature Tigers. F O R T R E S S. Buy it. And the lead singer, Charlie Brand, is awesome. I met him in the artist lounge at Lolla:

Like millions of other people, I’ve been lovin’ Sleigh Bells, “Treats.” Is that opening track the most amazing thing you’ve heard in a long time or what?!? Talk about busting the door off its hinges and starting the show. Here’s a fun little interview with them on ABC  News Amplified series hosted by Dan Harris.

Also, a group I learned of at Lolla this year – Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros. Awesome.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

