two awesome items of the day

by pieces of moments

{via}

#1: Today I finally fulfilled a dream I’ve had for a decade at least. Today, thanks to the film “Coco Chanel & Igor Stravinsky” (which I was going to see in NYC but ended up seeing the Joan Rivers documentary instead), I saw a terrifically done reenactment of the massive fight that broke out at the premiere of Stravinsky’s Le sacré du printemps (The Rite of Spring, or if you’re so inclined, Весна священная). It’s one of my favorite moments in all of music history. I’ve talked about getting people together to reenact the legendary night for so long. I used to mention it to my music history professors and tried to drum up support for the idea amongst my classmates – I’ve even mentioned it here previously.

It was all I wanted and more. The scene wasn’t just a glimpse, it was like, the first 30 minutes of the movie. I was so delighted…and I’m such a nerd. I sat there in the dark of the theater with the biggest grin on my face.

If you’re not familiar with what I’m talking about you can read more here. Suffice to say, if you were living in 1913 and you were used to seeing this at the theater…

…you, too, might be shocked into an extreme emotional reaction to the experience of being confronted with this instead:

The rest of the movie was okay, but not stellar. The thing is, it’s based on true facts, but totally elaborated upon. While it’s extremely likely that Stravinsky had an affair with Coco Chanel (it’s true that the Stravinskys lived in her house for a while), there’s not a whole lot of proof regarding the longevity or intensity of the relationship. I still recommend seeing it – if nothing else for the ability to relive the riot.

#2: For something completely different, I recommend reading this absolutely hysterical piece, “A Short History of the Inaugrual Norse Assault on Paris for Bostonians,” over at McSweeny’s. I miss hearing the Boston accent – it has such personality, such spunk. The native Chicago accent is just downright nasal and annoying. But, seriously, you have to read this, especially if you do or have lived in Boston or know any native Bostonians. Here’s a little example from the essay (lightly edited for the general audience):

So these Danish guys they go n’ they all staht sailin’ up n’ down the coasts’ah the three Frankish Kingdoms—’cause Frankie’s been split intah three territahries now on accoun’ah those brothahs’ ongoin’ disagreement—n’ so these Danes, they’re havin’ a great f***in’ time attackin’ people wherevah they feel like, whenevah they feel like till in 845 this guy Ragnah Hairy Breeches gets tah thinkin’ it’d be a real f***in’ pissah idea tah take 120 ships up the Seine Rivah in ohrdah tah sack Paris. {continue reading this awesomeness…}

