proms

by pieces of moments

{me at the Royal Albert Hall…not during Proms season...}

One thing I really want to do in my life is attend the absolutely epic concert event that is The Last Night of the Proms and wave the Scottish flag from what is effectively the closest thing to a classical music mosh pit in the middle. I think my Scottish great-great-grandfather would be happy about that.

Don’t you love how this picture is all Sturm und Drang? Like, you can just see the Black Watch patrolling the moors.

Anyway, this year the BBC Proms commences on July 16. If you are lucky enough to be summering in London stop by, because this summer the beginning will be nearly as epic as the end. In celebration of the 150th anniversary of the birth of Gustav Mahler they are kickin’ off the Proms with his Symphony No. 8…the so-called “Symphony of a Thousand.”

Oh, and happy belated birthday, Mahler. I’m celebrating by reading through all of these again. Cheers!

