where you should be on sunday

by pieces of moments

CYSO’s Encore Chamber Orchestra will perform a captivating concert of Latin-inspired music including Danzón No.2 by Arturo Márquez , La Noche de los Mayas by Silvestre Revueltas, and Rapsodie Espagnole by Maurice Ravel. The highlight of the concert promises to be Ricardo Lorenz’s Pataruco: Concerto for Maracas, written for Ed Harrison, Principal Percussionist of the Lyric Opera of Chicago. Mr. Harrison will join CYSO for this special performance. {via the CYSO website}

Be there – 6:30 PM in Chicago’s Millennium Park. It’s perfect summer music, and these are not your average high school students playing classical music. You have to be there to see what I mean.

Now, beyond that, you have to (HAVE TO) come if only to hear the Revueltas. HOLY COW. Can you say 14 percussionists and a conch shell? A conch shell. That alone should be enough to get you to come on down to the exploding silver ribbon Jay Pritzker Pavilion that Ghery build. When I heard the percussion sectional rehearsal the other day I could barely stand how awesome it sounded. Seriously, cancel all your plans. You’ll thank me on Monday. Cross my heart and kiss my elbow.

Oh, and if you are a Monty Python fan…tell me that the portions of the brass writings don’t sound way too much like that part at the end of Holy Grail when they take that hilariously Norse boat across the water to the last castle, right before they all get arrested. I don’t think Revueltas had that in his ears at all…but it makes me privately giggle to myself anyway (in between being totally stunned by the awesomeness, that is).

Here’s a sample to whet your appetite:

