it’s okay to wear white now (phew)

by pieces of moments

Happy Memorial Day weekend, my fellow citizens. You may now pull out all your summer whites (and obnoxiously gigantic sunglasses…).

. . .

Don’t you just love summer? I’ve got a couple of different grill-outs on the calender for tomorrow. My tan is slowly but surely on its way. The pools will be open. We were already at the beach last weekend. Ice cream is always on the menu. Summer music festivals are getting ready to open their doors. People are playing music out by cafes – like these teenagers rockin’ the blues in Oak Park (#3).

//

//

. . .

Speaking of wearing white, Wimbledon will be upon us soon! I’ve always wanted to try playing on grass court. I saw it when I visited the International Tennis Hall of Fame in Rhode Island, but didn’t have time for a match.

. . .

But first, the French Open over at Roland Garros! I’ve been listening to Radio Roland Garros during any and all free time. As a bonus, it’s a great way to brush up on your French if you choose to listen to the French announcers (you get to hear them scream “o la la la la la!!!”) over the British. My personal favorite (with the unwritten understanding that no one, but no one could ever replace Pete), the Scotsman, Andy Murray, was ousted today. Sadness. Well, I guess it’s time to do the old switcharo and cheer for Nadal.

Speaking of Nadal, who hails from Spain…it’s World Cup year! What a great summer for sports, huh? All the great tennis tournaments AND World Cup? Awesome. Don’t you just love soccer? Last summer my friends gave me and another friend one of the best birthday presents: tickets to see DC United play Real Madrid. I’m cheering for Spain, as usual.

Summer whites include sails. I can’t wait to go sailing a little later this summer. I totally want to be a nerd and wear white sailing shorts with a navy striped shirt. You know, those old school styles, like Picasso was rockin’ in that famous photograph:

. . .

Yesterday, Ben, Harry, and I were discussing the physics of getting your boat to sail by using a giant fan. Turns out someone has tried this experiment already. It’s all about reverse thrust. Interesting, no?

You know what would make a great Memorial Day tradition? Listening through the entire White Album (number 9…number 9…number 9…). Now that’s what I call pulling out your whites. Hope it’s a good one for you and yours.

