week of music in photos

by pieces of moments

Recently one of our orchestras performed a couple of education concerts for a few hundred Chicago Public School students. This particular event was at the stunning South Shore Cultural Center. If you’re in Chicago, you have to go there for a visit. It totally reminded me of some of the old school society hang-outs I’ve been to in Newport, Rhode Island. It’s right on the shores of the lake (which, is always a bonus for me since I am o.b.s.e.s.s.e.d with being by water). I need to remember to put my actual camera in my bag so I can take decent pictures for y’all more of the time, rather than this fuzzy hot mess stuff from my phone, but it’s better than nothing, right?

South Shore Cultural Center:

. . .

. . .

So this week we received a bunch of thank you letters from one of the public schools from another set of education concerts that happened previously at the Chicago Cultural Center (which has a couple of my favorite glass domes anywhere, and the most beautiful mosaic work). Letters from kids are the best thing. You know what can make them even better? When they are poems! Check out a couple of my favorites:

Thanks for playing the music for us
The music might be happy the music
might be sad the
music might be
everything the music
might be mad. The music
can be high the music
can be low the music
can be everything the music can be shy

//

Thanks for the show
It was exciting us
so thanks for inviting us
The pitch went up and down
but I stayed calm
I like the bass drum
It had lots of beats, so I didn’t fall asleep
So I stayed awake and
the music was great

//

Thanks for inviting us
I was so excited that I could not move my
inside. The room was full
of heat as in beat. I
hope you make more
music so everyone could
be musical.

//

. . .

Today we were down on the gorgeous University of Chicago campus for one of quite a few season ending concerts. The kids did an amazing job. There were some really beautiful moments.

. . .

. . .

Sitting backstage today listening to them reminded me of all the hundreds of hours I spent waiting around backstage. It’s such a bizarre mode of being when you think about it, especially as a pianist. We sit around utterly alone and then turn a corner and end up standing under hot bright lights with thousands of eyes staring at us expectantly.

I kinda tend to gravitate toward university campuses like a heat seeking missal. Especially when they look extremely cliché. Give me cliché!!!

I want:

  • Ivy growing everywhere
  • Gothic architecture
  • Long study room tables with chairs and green library lights
  • Crests and emblems of various sorts
  • Latin engraved wherever anything can be engraved
  • Quadrangles

Thank goodness, U of C has lots of that going on. Ahhhhh. Made me re-(re-re-re-re)-visit the idea of applying.

. . .

. . .

