3

by pieces of moments

Three words: I miss you.

Very powerful stuff.

Today I received a text from a friend out East who said she boarded the subway and saw someone that looked something like me and missed me. I was grateful to hear those little, but very important, words. I’m not grateful that we don’t get to see each other often enough, but I am happy to know that somewhere someone is constituting and validating my existence by missing me.

I think a lot about validating and constituting. Sometimes in my imagination I see humanity as if we were transparent. Something about the act of someone saying “I see you, I hear you, and I recognize you” pulls us into technicolor focus. In that action we are, at least in part, constituted, composed, found.

It occurs to me that is exactly what is happening in the artistic process, too. We see, hear, and recognize an age old score written by an age old composer, or a brand new score written by a fairly new composer. We sit in rooms, alone, or in groups, for hours cutting and chipping away at the exterior so we can, in a sense, re-compose the music, constitute it – find it. It’s like the score is saying to the performer and the performer to the score: I miss you.

Reciprocal: In finding the missing and the finding of the music we often find our missing selves, too.

