Anthèmes + Anthems

by pieces of moments

Okay.

Are you ready for this? I’m super pumped because on Sunday we’re going to this rock show.

OH. HECK. YEAH.

Let’s go through that line up again, shall we?

Musicians from the Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Pierre Boulez, conductor
Cliff Colnot, conductor
Pierre-Laurent Aimard, piano
Tamara Stefanovich, piano
Nathan Cole, violin
John Sharp, cello
Arshia Cont, IRCAM computer production
Jérémie Henrot, IRCAM sound engineer

Can we stop for a minute and reflect on how awesome it is that they’re flying kids in from IRCAM?

(( ……….. ))

Good thing Anthèmes II (for violin and live electronics) is on the menu. 

I’ll give you the run down next week.

Tonight we went to see the movie The Young Victoria (best line of the movie? “She doesn’t care for Schubert – she only likes modern composers”). I freakin’ loved it. Granted, I’m going to at least like anything that is set in any decade prior to the 20th and involves hoop/full skirts paired with proper English manners, but regardless of that fact, it was great. It had me at the moment Zadok The Priest started playing at the coronation scene within the first few moments. I love Handel’s Coronation Anthems (I think I’d have to vote for My Heart Is Inditing as my personal front runner) – it’s just that perfect Sunday-afternoon-in-the-sunshine-with-tea music, you know? My only complaint is that every time they used it they always stopped right before the galloping “and all the people rejoiced” section right before the declamatory “God save the Queen” part with the melismatic “a-a-a-a-a-a-a-a-amen”. Sigh. Oh, well.

