New Weezer!

by pieces of moments

I adore Weezer. Granted, the output has been a little hit and miss the last couple of years, but hey…whatever.

Also, any of you kids familiar with that awesome Blue Album special edition that featured Weezer gettin’ their barbershop quartet on will appreciate the barbershop-esque segment in the video below. Oh, and it’s for the track “(If You’re Wondering If I Want You To) I Want You To” from Raditude, due out early next month.

Also, this is totally random, but has anyone noticed that some of their most hysterical lyrics involve meat? One of my favorite lines is in “El Scorcho” when he says “…I’ll bring home the turkey of you bring home the bacon” (hilarious, no?). And in this new track the line, “Your Mom cooked meatloaf even though I don’t eat meat/I dug you so much, I took some for the team” made me snicker – a lot. Ah…

Additionally, this video proves Brian Bell still has the best hair in the indie rock business.

On a s-l-i-g-h-t-l-y more scholarly note, Sasha Frere-Jones recently brought up an interesting conversation (lost track of where the article was, though…Je suis très désolé) about bands that can maintain identity even with shifting personnel. I mean, let’s face it, you take away/replace one of the Spice Girls and you don’t have the Spice Girls any more (am I right or am I right?). But, somehow, Weezer has always managed to stay Weezer even with their rotating bassists. I don’t have time to get into it today…but it’s something to ponder whilst you’re staring out the window later this evening. What makes a band the band?

Enjoy!

Vodpod videos no longer available.

