take the stairs

by pieces of moments

I know, it’s been a while. I’ve been traveling, working on some writing projects, and hanging out in the archives of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra (thanks to Eric!). Can we talk for a second about how astounding it is to chill out in the archives? I love archives. You could stick me in a room of archives and I would be happy there for hours and hours on end. Seriously, kids, I got to see Richard Strauss‘ manuscript for the 2nd Symphony, Clara Schumann’s autograph (my girl, Clara!), one of the most rare photographs of symphony hall, various Grammy Awards, and I got to sit in Fritz Reiner’s rehearsal chair, and to top it all off I held Beethoven’s life mask (the only such mask made during his lifetime – he was 42 years old at the time the cast was made) in my hands and we looked at each other face to face. It was the best possible way to spend a Thursday afternoon.

There will be more soon, but in the meantime, isn’t this a fantastic idea for so many reasons?

