blissful rightness

by pieces of moments

Tonight, whilst I was sitting on the bus, gazing out the window (I am addicted to windows) I was overwhelmed with a premonition of pure, unadulterated, gorgeousness. I don’t know from whence it came, but it was just one of those moments you wish you could capture in a Mason jar and put a ribbon on to save for later. It was like feeling Robert Browning’s famous line from Pippa Passes: “God’s in his heaven – All’s right with the world.”

Maybe it’s the recent peace and quiet, or the slightly crisp air, or the scrumptious sandwich I had for lunch (turkey/brie/thinly sliced granny smith apple/dijon/multigrain bread/toasted to perfection), or the fun with people dear to my heart both far and near, or the way the light at around 6PM has changed from brilliant canary summer  to amber golden autumn. Maybe it’s just that I’ve been happier, and more content, in the last few months, despite the world economic crisis, than I have been in a long time.

I’ve been comparing the opening few minutes of the first movements of all the Beethoven piano concertos this evening, and had to stop to listen to the Adagio (2nd movement) of the 5th piano concerto. It is the aural equivalent to the way I felt this evening: blissful rightness. It’s one of my two favorite slow movements of a piano concerto (guess which one is the other favorite…).

I hope you get a full on dose of blissful rightness yourself, soon.

