now that’s pop i can publicize

by pieces of moments

I am an unabashed optimist. The glass is half full. The lemons make a really delicious lemonade. Maybe that’s why Sondre Lerche is one of my favorite musicians. There is just something about his music that feels kind of like a life jacket on a stormy sea, or like warm clothes from the dryer after you have dashed inside from being caught in a downpour.  He always seems to me to be the kind of guy who will chat with you about absolutely anything and end the conversation on an upbeat. What’s not to love about that? This is pop music I can endorse. Oh, and he’s done a jazz album, too. Way delightful.

Did you see the movie Dan In Real Life? He composed the soundtrack. I love that idea, don’t you? I mean, there are many wonderful film score composers. One of my personal favorites is Alexander Desplat. His soundtrack for De battre mon coeur s’est arrêté [The Beat That My Heart Skipped] is astounding…among others. And what intrigues me about Desplat is his ability to morph his compositions according to the film unlike some other equally wonderful film composers who have such a distinct mark you recognize the thumbprint four measures into the movie score. Oh, but let’s not digress too much. It’s super fun to mix it up and have an indie pop kid at the helm. The results were pitch perfect in my opinion.

On September 8th Lerche’s new album will drop. Just lettin’ you know.

