June 8, 1810

by pieces of moments

Happy Birthday Robert Schumann.

As you may know, I’m not a huge fan of the Romantic era by any stretch of the imagination…post Romantic even less so. This rejection started somewhere in my early 20s. Yes, I admit to you that up through high school I was a total sap for anything from the Romantic era – but isn’t that the way it should be? At that age life is one huge roller coaster, one huge exciting ride and it does seem fitting that Romantic era music should be the soundtrack. When it becomes apparent that life actually has more to it, that it has details and logic and regulations then it seems less relevant. Upheaval is best accompanied by calculated sets or aleatoric music, don’t you think? Maybe I’m getting softer as I get older, or perhaps now I just see how intellectualism and romance can exist side by side. I think that’s why it takes a while to fully appreciate the music of Robert Schumann, at least for me. But I have had conversations with others who have mentioned a similar phenomenon in loving the music of R.S. more fully with each passing year. His mind met his heart and they made beautiful music.

Some of my favorites…

The Piano Quintet. I had the pleasure of learning/performing this in high school. As a young pianist it was a phenomenal experience to actually make music with others…such is the life of a solitary instrument.

Toccata

Dichterliebe (“Poet’s Love”), “Im wunderschönen Monat Mai” (well, I love all the Dichterliebe, but this movement is my all time fav)

And on a related note while we’re at it…check out what I found!

Karajan rehearsing the Vienna Phil on Schumann’s 4th Symphony


