How To Be

by pieces of moments

Well, it’s time for the film festivals in the Northeast. The Boston Independent Film Festival has begun here and in New York the Tribeca Film Festival kicked off yesterday. I’ll, sadly, be missing most of the Boston IFF because I’ll be in NYC for a long weekend attending Tribeca and doing other NYCish things.

But back to the topic at hand, right?

Trekked out West-ish to the Coolidge Corner Theater to catch a screening of Oliver Irving’s film How To Be.

(Check out the totally offensively bad picture I snapped with my Blackberry…those are awesome little machines but they take terrible photos…be warned. Also, I was trying not to be too obvious, hence the furryblurry nature. L-R: Oliver Irving, Joe Hastings – who also wrote the original film score, Johnny White, and Mike Pearce.)

htb_coolidge_corner

What I wasn’t expecting was that the movie is hilariously funny – doesn’t quite come across in the trailer. Now, don’t get me wrong because I love me my Wes Anderson, but Irving’s work is like Anderson’s but more pure, like, more soul to soul without a lot of fussy stuff in between. The characters are at once very pronounced in what role they serve and yet have myriad levels of subtlety lurking and flashing about underneath giving a real sense of humanity and depth to each one.

Of course, all the teenage girls were out in force clasping their love for Edward Cullen (probably not so much Robert Pattinson) close to their hearts as they quite literally skipped down the aisles to their seats. That was a bit insane. I think for the first time in my life so far, I felt old. Look, if you are a Robert Pattinson fan, you’re going to like the movie just cause he’s in it. If you are not particularly a Pattinson fan, but hold nothing against him, you’ll still really like the movie, and will probably get a more unfiltered idea that, really, he’s a great actor and seems a bit more at home playing the geek than the hottie, which is very telling and fascinating to see. If you could care less, you’ll still love the film and note especially the guys who play his two besties, Ronny and Nikki nearly steal the whole film away.

For me one of the best things about the film is not only its focus on music as almost a character in the movie, but the actual flawless blending of score and screen. I love that. I love it when the music is so completely suited to the film and to each second the sound accompanies your sight. I recommend the soundtrack (coming out next week)…I mean, they put The Roches on there!

Vodpod videos no longer available.

