theSoundofMusic

by pieces of moments

Fall is in full force in Bostonia, and that means events are going on left and right. The Head of the Charles Regatta starts tomorrow (I never miss it…see you on the picnic blanket by the river…but stay tuned as this may be my first year viewing from the BU side rather than Harvard side) as was evidenced by the flock of fit (and cute) men in their Harvard blazers streaming out from the Harvard Club tonight. Well, that and every other event that was going on and streaming out into the streets at around 10 PM. It was insane! I left the dazzling A Far Cry concert (more on that tomorrow) at Jordan Hall at just about the time the kidz were leaving the Jon Stewart shindig at Northeastern. Meanwhile the Huntington Theatre was just letting out and those posers at Berklee (yes, I said it…oh common…you know you feel that way too when you see them, or have to elbow through them, looking like Rolling Stone photo shoot extras while loitering on the sidewalk clogging foot traffic day after day) were out in force.

Moving on…

I can’t wait to tell you all about the A Far Cry concert. If you know me well enough you know I have pretty straight and tough opinions – especially about musical performances. So, the fact that many of the members of A Far Cry are friends and/or colleagues of mine from NEC shouldn’t make you weary that I might give some glowing report just ’cause. No, I assure you that if it wasn’t great stuff, you would know about it. Suffice to say, it was stunning, I’m so proud of them, and I can’t wait to tell you more.

It was also a lovely frosting on the cake that was my viewing of Touch the Sound over the last couple of days. Have you seen it?! If you haven’t…rent it asap!

But its ridiculously late. I have spent too much time already browsing all possible slideshows on NY Times (so addictive!) and it’s time to call it a day.

