calm before the storm

by pieces of moments

Hi all. I’m here in Texas for a week. We are taping two radio shows in the state, one tomorrow here in San Antonio, and one on Tuesday up in Lubbock, TX. If you have been anywhere near a news source you are probably thinking to yourself right about now, “um..but…isn’t there..??” Yes. Ike. I’m up so late right now in part due to the storm. I have never experienced a hurricane before (being the good Nebraska girl I am I’m a pro at tornados, however) so this whole thing has me a bit excited. Thus, I have been watching the local news as they are down in Houston where Ike has nearly made landfall.

We’re all wondering what will happen here tomorrow – we don’t know what to expect. Apparently last night the hotel was passing out flyers that instructed staying away from windows, drawing the curtains, and preparing for possible power outages. By the time I arrived today they didn’t say a word when I checked in and I also haven’t seen a flyer, so I don’t know whether they were over-reacting last night, or if that was routine, etc. They are predicting strong wind gusts and just about an inch of rain right now, so, hopefully it won’t keep people from attending our great show tomorrow night.

I also hope I get a chance to actually walk down the Riverwalk again, but this time go on down to the Alamo. Anyone else remember that awesome old Disney movie about Davy Crockett?

Also, has anyone seen that brilliant Redbull commercial where the cat is going after the little caged birds? Okay, okay, it’s not what you think, I don’t approve of random bird abuse. It’s just that the music producer for that ad is a genius! He bothered to use some of Papageno’s – the bird catcher’s – music from Mozart’s Die Zauberflöte (The Magic Flute). Way to go music producer! We nerdy musicological types applaud you! It’s certainly far more appropriate than music producers for car ads that randomly use various Dies Irae excerpts for quick and dirty dramatic effect. It’s like, “um…so are you saying the car is like…the ‘day of wrath’?” Makes no sense. Please music producer people for commercials, I implore you to make like the Redbull guy and research the original context for the music first to avoid totally appauling nerds like me. Anyone else with me on this one?

This all reminds me of my rant about how in the world they arbitrarily pick the 30 second itunes samples…don’t even get me started.

Okay, enough storm watchin’ and belly achin’ about bad music production…it’s bedtime. Night ya’ll.

